Concerning the International Criminal Court

In 2017 the International Criminal Court (ICC) was awarded the Stockholm Human Rights Award for its fight against impunity for atrocity crimes that threaten the peace, security and well- being of the world in accordance with the Rome Statute and for the critical role it plays in fostering the Rule of Law internationally.

The Swedish Bar Association, The International Bar Association (IBA) and ILAC are the three bodies which decide upon the recipient of this award every year.[1]

The ICC President Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi, The ICC Prosecutor Fatou Bensouda, and ICC Registrar Herman von Hebel – accepted the Award on behalf of the ICC from His Majesty the King of Sweden Carl XVI Gustaf. 

In June 2020 the USA Government under the Presidency of Donald Trump, issued an Executive Order authorising the US Secretary of State, Michael Pompeo, to block financial assets within the US jurisdiction of ICC personnel, and suspend ICC staff, or any persons found to be cooperating with the institution, entry into the country. Visa sanctions have also been extended to the officials’ immediate family members. This Executive Order is regarded as a response to investigations by the ICC Prosecutor that could potentially implicate the US and its allies, such as Israel for the commission of war crimes, notwithstanding the fact that neither the USA nor Israel are signatories to the Treaty of Rome which set up the ICC. 

A number of ILAC members have protested against the issuance of these orders as a gross misuse of an otherwise effective instrument against unlawful activities.

The following represent a sample of those statements and protests and given the change of government within the USA since these Executive Orders were issued, ILAC urges the new USA administration to have regard to these well formulated and considered arguments in order to review the issuance of these orders with a view to rescission: 

Statement by the American Bar Association Center for Human Rights and report to the House of Delegates by the American Bar Association Center for Human Rights.

Statement by the President of the American Bar Association Bob Carlson re:Restricting International Criminal Court officials’ visas

Statement by the International Bar Association

Statement by various signatories (including Chief Executive of the Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice)

Statement by the President of the Assembly of State Parties O-Gon Kwon

[1] List of recipients of SHRA: 

2019: David Miliband and International Rescue Committee

2018: Judge Thomas Buergenthal

2017: International Criminal Court 

2016 President Mary Robinson 

2015 Prince Zeid Ra’ad Al-Hussein 

2014 B’Tselem 

2013 Professor Cherif Baissouni 

2012 Thomas Hammarberg and the European Roma Rights Centre 

2011 George Soros and Aryeh Neier 

2010 Navanethem “Navi” Pillay 

2009 Judge Richard Goldstone